n1wzAdy

Microsoft talks about the possibility of a Minecraft 2comment_here

minecraft 2
I wonder how Minecraft 2 will look like?

I hate to tell you guys this, but i told you so! Because right after that i wrote my "Microsoft buys Mojang and Minecraft for $2.5billion" article back in September. I pointed out that it´s very likely that we will get to see a Minecraft 2.

Because just like i said back then, 2.5 billion dollars is a lot of money. And Microsoft want that investment to pay off asap. And that´s where Minecraft 2 comes into the picture. Because i´m quite sure that a sequal to Minecraft would sell millions and millions of retail copies (and downloads).

Then we got the upcoming Minecraft movie as well. Which Warner Bros and Shawn Levy (the director for Night at the Museum) works on right now (it´s set for a 2017 or 2018 release). And one should not forget that Microsoft also cash in on ALL the Minecraft merchandise as well.

T-shirts, toys, candy, you name it! So i guess that it would be a really good idea to release Minecraft 2 sometime around 2017, or 2018 (close to the Minecraft movie release). Oh well, time will tell. I´m at least glad to hear that Microsoft won´t remove Minecraft from other competing platforms (PS3, PS4 and PSV for ex).

But it´s quite obvious that Microsoft will do whatever they can to make their version of Minecraft THE superior one. Anyhow, this is what Phil Spencer (head of Microsoft's Xbox division and Microsoft Studios) told IGN about Minecraft 2 and the Minecraft buyout:

"I think what we've learned through Xbox Live is something that we can help in unifying a little bit of what happens with Minecraft today," he said. "If I'm on PC I get access to the mod servers; if I'm on console or the mobile editions, I don't. We're looking at how do we bring that whole system together a little more. Because there are other games out there that let me move from screen to screen fairly seamlessly."

"I don't know if Minecraft 2, if that's the thing that makes the most sense. The community around Minecraft is as strong as any community out there. We need to meet the needs and the desires of what the community has before we get permission to go off and do something else," he said. "It doesn't mean that everything we're going to do is going to map to 100 percent of their acceptance, because I don't know if there is any topic where 100 percent of people agree. But we look at Job 1 is to go out and meet the needs of the Minecraft community first, and then we can think about ways that we can actually help grow it. That's our sole focus."

"And frankly, I love what [Minecraft] means for us as a gaming industry--maybe that's overstating it a little bit," he said. "Kids creating things, playing together, having a good time--it has a role in classrooms. I just think it's good for us. I see us as shepherds of the IP."

"It's a big deal," "For me, I look at it as a great game to add to our portfolio. I love [the gamer] who plays Minecraft. I love that male, female, young, and old--it's something that lives on so many different screens. I'd love to bring it to more screens out there."Phil Spencer, IGN 

Source:
Gamespot

robin
/Robin E
The Gaming Ground
Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share to MySpace Stumble It Share to Reddit Share to Delicious More...

Comment here!


super mario


- No spam or surreptitious ads thanks!

- Keep a good tone. And please avoid personal attacks etc.

- Criticism is okay. As long as it is constructive

- The comments you make will be answered here on our website.

you Your name:
Remember me?
mail Your Email address (It will not be published)

home Your homepage or blog address:


write_us Your comment:
:-) :-( :-P :-d :-O ;-) ;-s ;-( :-| :question: :rolleyes: :love: :blush: :mad: :cool: :tired: :bigeyes: :thumbup: :thumbdown: ;-P

bloglovin
bloglovin
We need your support! (why?)
TGG 2.0 webvoter-poll
What should we do more of on TGG 2.0?
Anime and Manga
Movies
Hardware and software
Interviews
Gaming videos
Reviews
Contests
gg_banner


overklockedremix


childs_play


eks kristaller
This ad space is for sale!
feedback
cookies
tgg v2 logo
v1.7 ©2012-2013 *the gaming ground* allrights reserved
Privacy Policy